Got a Pain in Your Side?

Standard

stormsAround our neck of the woods last night, the thunder was so loud and powerful that I was scared pictures were going to start falling off the walls!  Did my daughter (who is petrified of storms) hear or feel any of it? I mean, she had come to my bed two hours earlier when it thundered in a neighboring state!

I’m not sure I was wakened by the storm or the pain in my side.  As I pried her knee out of my back, where she was obviously trying to remove my kidney with her knee cap, I rolled over to heavy breathing and sound sleep. How does she do that?  In her own room, she hears thunder that is miles and miles away, and yet when her elbow is implanted into my temple, she doesn’t hear a thing??!!!

Last night as I was lying there, fearing the pictures or dishes were going to start falling, I could catch glimpses of this child’s face. The lightning rivaled any halogen spotlight we owned and shone brightly on this soundly sleeping child. Maybe my bed is just more comfortable than hers?  Maybe the sound of my fan was louder than her radio AND sound machine? Maybe she just becomes deaf in my presence(because there are other circumstances I could plead this case)?  Or maybe the comfort came from knowing mom was awake and wouldn’t let anything hurt her?

I remember another storm nearly 40 years ago that took me running to my mother’s arms and eventually to my knees.  It was on a stormy night, while under a tornado warning, that I asked the Prince of Peace into my heart.  It wasn’t the last storm I rode out, there have been hundreds since, and living in tornado alley, I’m sure, unless the Lord returns in the next day or two, I will see a few more.  There is a difference since that one so long ago. The difference is the peace that I still have even in the midst of the storms.  Now don’t get me wrong, a loud BAM! of thunder can still make me jump out of my skin, but there’s a peace in knowing that if I do get blown away, well….at least I know where I’m blowing away to…and its not Oz! It’s not even Kansas!

No sir-ree!  When the Savior of the world swoops down with a flash of light brighter than all the lightning we could ever imagine, and with a shout from the archangel that will certainly register on any Richter scale, this girl will be on her way to glory! There will be no more tears of frustration and failure. There will be no more hurtful words in broken relationships. There will be no more hate in people’s hearts. There will be no more glamorizing sin every day on the morning news show. There will be no more shame for our mistakes from 10 years ago or 10 minutes ago. There will be no more pride in our physical attraction or in our know it all attitudes. There will be NO MORE storms of this life! Oh praise His name!!!

And if you don’t believe He’s coming again, oh please, please, please search the Scriptures!  There is nothing I am more sure of in this world than that promise! He will come again! Right now, He’s delaying, maybe He’s waiting on you? Waiting on you to accept Him as Savior in your life? Or perhaps, maybe waiting for you to tell someone you know about Him?

Don’t stay under the covers with an elbow in your temple or a knee in your kidney!

Matthew 24:36-44: “But the exact day and hour? No one knows that, not even heaven’s angels, not even the Son. Only the Father knows. The Arrival of the Son of Man will take place in times like Noah’s. Before the great flood everyone was carrying on as usual, having a good time right up to the day Noah boarded the ark. They knew nothing—until the flood hit and swept everything away. The Son of Man’s Arrival will be like that: Two men will be working in the field—one will be taken, one left behind; two women will be grinding at the mill—one will be taken, one left behind. So stay awake, alert. You have no idea what day your Master will show up. But you do know this: You know that if the homeowner had known what time of night the burglar would arrive, he would have been there with his dogs to prevent the break-in. Be vigilant just like that. You have no idea when the Son of Man is going to show up.

Leave a comment